Mayoral Advisory Committee



Minutes of a meeting of the Mayoral Advisory Committee held on Monday 16 January 2017 at 12.30 pm in the Mayor's Parlour, West Suffolk House, Western Way, Bury St Edmunds IP33 3YU

Present: **Councillors**

Chairman Ian Houlder

Tony Brown John Griffiths Margaret Marks Sara Mildmay-White Peter Stevens

Substitutes attending:

Diane Hind

By Invitation: Julia Wakelam

27. **Election of Chairman: 2017/2018**

It was proposed, seconded and

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Ian Houlder be elected Chairman for 2017/2018.

28. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Bob Cockle.

29. Substitutes

The following substitution was declared:

Councillor Diane Hind substituting for Councillor Bob Cockle.

30. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on 31 March 2016 were confirmed as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

31. Venue and Timings

The Committee considered a narrative item which sought agreement for the venue and timings for the Honorary Freedom of the Borough and Mayor Making ceremonies, and the Annual Meeting of Council on Thursday 18 May 2017.

Consideration was given to the venue and timings in recent years, which included the timings agreed for 15 May 2014 when the last Freedom of the Borough was conferred.

The following was agreed, that:

(1) Venue

The venue in 2017 for all three events would be The Apex, Charter Square, Bury St Edmunds.

(2) Timings

Procession

Subject to its availability during its refurbishment works, Members would assemble at 11.30 am at The Guildhall and start to process to the Apex by 11.45 am.

Honorary Freedom of the Borough

The start time would be 12 noon.

Mayor Making

The start time would be 12.30 pm (or at the conclusion of the conferment of the Honorary Freedom of the Borough, whichever was the later).

Annual Meeting of Council

The start time would be 2.00 pm (or at the conclusion of the 45 minute adjournment, whichever was the later) and it was anticipated that it would conclude by 2.45 pm.

RESOLVED:

That the decisions taken in respect of the venue and timings for the three events being held on Thursday 18 May 2017 be as detailed in (1) and (2) above.

(Subsequent to the meeting, it was established that The Guildhall would not be available to facilitate the procession, therefore alternative arrangements would need to be made.)

32. Date of Next Meeting

Members noted that the next meeting would be held on Monday 13 March 2017 at 4.00pm in the Mayor's Parlour.

33. Exclusion of Press and Public

It was proposed, seconded and

RESOLVED:

That under Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that it involved the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12(A) of the Act.

34. **Mayoralty 2017/2018**

The Committee considered nominations for the selection of Members of the Council for the Offices of Mayor and Deputy Mayor of the Borough for 2017/2018, and it was

RESOLVED: That

- (1) Councillor Terry Clements be nominated for election as Mayor for 2017/2018;
- (2) Councillor Margaret Marks be nominated for election as Deputy Mayor for 2017/2018; and
- (3) the aforementioned names be formally submitted to the Annual Meeting of the Council on 18 May 2017, subject to them formally consenting to such nominations.

(Councillor Margaret Marks left the meeting during the consideration of the nomination for the office of Deputy Mayor 2017/2018 and did not vote.)

The meeting concluded at 1.18 pm

Signed by:

Chairman